artchatterblog

CSUEB Electronic Art Seniors share their thoughts!

Programming in Processing

Hello!

I was influenced to make an arcade game for my senior project from the Introduction to Game Design class I took with Pierce Fraser. In that class we made basic games in a program called Processing. Unfortunately, we ran out of time in the class and didn’t get too far in the process of making a complete game and I felt like I wanted more. So when I was given the option for something in my senior project I thought I would try and tackle what I was not 100% familiar with. I like challenges. Sometimes it gets the better of me.

Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 5.23.09 PM

What has gotten me through this project so far is the book I used in the past called Learning Processing. It is almost the end of the quarter and I feel more accomplished every day I work on it. It was very much a learning process and I feel much more confident in my programming skills in this program. All I can do is try my best and outdo my last project. I hope to work in this program in the near future to try and push my knowledge of Java programming that much more.

For the inspiration of the game itself I went with something really simple. I thought about making a game similar to Galaga or Space Invaders but I wanted to do something unique. I went with the office theme because I haven’t found a game that played on the office supplies coming to “life”. The hardest part of this game will making its replay value worth it.

Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 5.38.45 PM

Thank you,

Miguel Rivas

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

