artchatterblog

CSUEB Electronic Art Seniors share their thoughts!

Artistic Inspiration

davis

So I don’t know about you guys, but I pull my artistic inspirations from all over the place. I really can’t choose just one to fully represent what represents my artistic inspirations.

The first artist I’d like to mention is the author of a web comic that I like to frequent. http://www.nedroid.com is where you can find all of his comics as well as his personal blog can be found on that page as well. I don’t particularly incorporate his actual art style into my own as much, even though I’d really like to. It’s just because he works with Manga Studio and he achieves this amazing vector line quality that I just can’t seem to replicate as well in Photoshop and Painter. I’ve also haven’t had the time or money to try to learn it, either. The main thing that I pull from this artist is his artistic comedy and attitude. I am always in awe of his use of color and the creativity and imagination he has. He can make the silliest and simplest things hilarious and beautiful at the same time. His coloring style what would mostly like to incorporate into my style. I have actually contacted him for a tutorial on his coloring techniques working with light for my Illustration Final and he actually contacted me back within a couple of hours and gave me a tutorial on how he does it! He has colored some comic issues of “Atomic Robo” and also does coloring for other web comics as well as his own. He is both active on his Twitter and Tumblr and he is constantly posting up silly little drawings that I absolutely adore. He also tweets things that are always amusing. “The real measure of an art fair henna tattoo booth is whether they will draw spider-man’s face over my face.” That’s one of the things you can be amused by if you follow him @Nedroid. I really want to stand out in that way where I can make people laugh and inspired at the same time with my artwork.

towardstomorrow atomicrobo tyger  gorgeoussteve crawlingsnakeperfect

The next artist I’d like to highlight is Philip Lumbang. He has a very distinct and iconic style to him. He actually has a favoritism towards drawing bears and that has really what has set him apart from other illustrators. He draws the same bear over and over again but in different styles and personalities. Sometimes they’re rabbits or raccoons but in the end you know it’s his work. I didn’t realize that I had adopted  this concept from him until I started writing this paragraph, actually. However, instead of drawing bears I particularly like drawing dinosaurs. It’s kind of in a specific style as well that is very continuous from drawing this orange dinosaur over and over again. I think it’s amazing how he can take the same character and pump out so much variety in it. You can see much of his work posted on his Instagram @philiplumbang.

cardboard gaga nuke palette pika

Slowly transitioning from illustration, I have an artist who works closely with kid robot and does many sculpture and designer toy creations. He not only does he work in a world of print, he takes his art into the third dimension. As an advocate for designer toys like Kidrobot, 3AA, and other such companies I have made attempts at customizing vinyl figures but have much to learn before I can invest all the money into creating more of them. He also has a pretty distinct style that is much more urban yet still for the lack of a better word, ‘cute’. This is what I pull from Huck Gee. The strong bold style of urban figurines that is both aggressive but not frightening. The vinyl toy company is an amazing industry and I definitely wouldn’t mind taking a crack at being a designer for vinyl toys as well. He’s even got a Kickstarter for a video game that he’s trying to develop! That site for his game, Battle Tails can be found on Kickstarter.

bruiser elephant elephantvinyl

robot

scullprint toymafia

Lastly, I want to introduce a completely different artist. Joshua Phillips is an amazing designer and artist who makes these beautiful hand-lettered quotations. I’ve picked up a couple mechanical pencils and inks to start practicing this art because it has moved me so much. As you can see his work is pretty different from the last three artists that I’ve showcased but it’s just another part of my field and something that I’d like to incorporate into all of my other work. I like keeping up to date with artistic trends and I think this sort of concept of hand lettering designs have really caught on. As an artist and graphic designer I think combining this type of artistic typography with illustration is something that can really work well together in the world of graphic design. I don’t think there is one picture that he has posted on his Instagram @joshuaphillips_ that I haven’t liked since I started following him. I also consider myself a writer, though I may be a bit rusty because of school doing illustrations, designs, photography, etc. (Funny, huh? School should make me a better writer.), I appreciate his use of diction and thought-provoking quotations just make me want to pick up a pen and draw as many curvy tails and try to solve the problems of putting these words together to make it beautiful typographically as well as beautiful in the literal aspect.

cared chase empty gladiators hero line shotgun thieves

These are the artists that have helped me understand what I love about what I do in art and graphic design. Not only that, they’ve helped me define my personal style and keep me encouraged to keep producing artwork that pushes the same emotions that I feel when I look at their work as well. When I think of ‘inspiration’ I think of the drive that I get from being captivated by seeing works of art like these. So after staring at this screen for so long and having to find all these images, you’ll have to excuse me because I gotta get back to work!

Daryl PeBenito

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

