artchatterblog

CSUEB Electronic Art Seniors share their thoughts!

Artist Inspiration

An artist that I was inspired by was Kelly Smith. Being given an assignment to create a mood board, I noticed that most of the posts that I saved were beauty and flowers. Always having a passion for illustration, I know that I was fond of drawing plants and flowers.

So while I was in the process of designing and researching what I can contribute to my Senior Project, which is the Beauty Alphabet Book…I had found images of many different artists that contributed beauty tools and women with flowers surrounding them. I grew fond of the idea of illustrating images for my book with a similar style.

Most of Kelly Smiths work consists of pencil drawings with paintings of flowers surrounding the main object or character. I love that she keeps the image very minimal with color but adds in the bold and bright colors in the flowers.

kelly-smith10

Marina Matsushita

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

