artchatterblog

CSUEB Electronic Art Seniors share their thoughts!

Art Inspiration -the inspiration of rejection

Hey, I’m going to talk about how rejection became my inspiration for my senior project. It may seem funny or weird that rejection was a basis of inspiration. But, failing at something makes me work harder for others, but more importantly, for myself. I had illustrated 5 book jackets (two that were a part of a series, chapter illustrations, and inside content for those two specific series as well), that all were different genres all because I was rejected from a book designing position from “Random House Publishing.”

I wanted to push myself to work on all of the things that the company was looking for in their job offer. I wanted to show that I’m capable of more than just their requirements on paper, but more that I’m capable to push myself past the frustration of rejection. My styles of inspiration come from an artist that did a series of illustrations of mass effect (Sam Spratt) and re-imagined disney of Heather Theurer.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

