artchatterblog

CSUEB Electronic Art Seniors share their thoughts!

Inspiration through Awareness

By Kim Zib.

 

I wanted to create a documentary showcasing the LGBTQ+ community that is a whole inspiration in itself–but I really didn’t want it to be something that would be considered an activist documentary either. I was inspired by the MTV documentary “White People.” I honestly wanted to invoke conversations about the LGBTQ+ community, or more so wanted people to listen to the stories of those within the community. I wanted their voices to be heard, and talk about things that many of us never ask of them. From someone who is the community, I feel that the regular questions, and also harder questions to answer are never really asked, or no one really listens. I wanted to spread awareness that wasn’t in your face, but more a more casual setting.

MTV’s “White People” does that. It talks about the harder things and creates a safe space about how those whom are considered white feel, and the views on white people from those who are considered POC (people of color). I wanted to mimic the open-discussion styled documentary, but still create new dialogue throughout as well.

I was really inspired to come out of my comfort zone and create a video that is very personal, and something that could one day impact my life in some way, shape, or form.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

